Uganda Safaris


May 24, 2017

Afro-montane is a term for sub-regions of the Afro-tropical realm.

One of the Earth’s eight biogeographic realms that covers the plant and animal species found in the mountains of Africa and the southern Arabian Peninsula.

The Afro-montane regions of Africa are discontinuous, separated from each other by lower-lying areas, and are sometimes referred to as the Afro-montane archipelago, as their distribution is analogous to a series of sky islands.

They occur in communities above 1,500–2,000 metreselevation near the equator, and as low as 300 metres elevation in the Knysna-Amatole montane forests of South Africa.

Afro-montane forests are generally cooler and more humid than the surrounding lowlands.

The Afromontane archipelago mostly follows in the East African Rift from the Red Sea to Zimbabwe, with the largest areas in the Ethiopian Highlands.

Others can be traced in the Albertine Rift Mountains of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Tanzania, and the Eastern Arc highlands of Kenya and Tanzania.

Afromontane ecoregions

Tropical and subtropical moist broadleaf forests

Ethiopian montane forests (Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Sudan),

Guinean montane forests (Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, and Sierra Leone),

Albertine Rift montane forests (Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda),

Cameroonian Highlands forests (Cameroon, Nigeria),

Knysna-Amatole montane forests (South Africa),

Southern Afro temperate Forest (Western Cape Province of South Africa),

East African montane forests (Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda),

Eastern Arc forests (Tanzania, Kenya),

Mount Cameroon and Bioko montane forests (Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea)

The Other being Montane grasslands, shrub lands, and woodlands [Angolan montane forest-grassland Angolan scarp savanna and woodlands , Drakensberg alti-montane grasslands and woodlands, Drakensberg montane grasslands, woodlands and forests, East African montane moorlands, Zimbabwe montane forest-grassland mosaic, Zimbabwe, Ethiopian montane grasslands and woodlands, Ethiopian montane moorlands, Highveld grasslands, Jos Plateau forest-grassland mosaic (Nigeria), Maputaland-Pondoland bushland and thickets (Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland), Southern Afrotemperate Forest (Western Cape Province of South Africa), Rwenzori-Virunga montane moorlands (Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Uganda), South Malawi montane forest-grassland mosaic (Malawi, Mozambique), Southern Rift montane forest-grassland mosaic (Malawi, Tanzania)